Skip to Content

V2020 Advisory Council

Executive Committee

The daily operations of the Vision 20/20 project under the Institution of Fire Engineers, is overseen by the members of the Executive Committee, below. We are guided by a Fire & Emergency Service Organizations made of representatives from national organizations dedicated to fire safety, and you can learn more about them by clicking here.

Feel free to reach any of us through the Contact Us page.

Stephen Hrustich

Stephen Hrustich
Program Director

Randall Hanafen

Randall Hanafen
IFE Liaison

Peg Paul
Communications Director

Meri-K Appy

Meri-K Appy
Director of Strategic Partnerships

Fire & Emergency Service Organizations

The Fire & Emergency Service Organizations provides guidance to the operations of the project through a diversity of backgrounds, interests and views. The daily operations of Vision 20/20 are guided by members of the Executive Committee, and you can learn more about them by clicking here.


American Red Cross
Kevin Kelley
Senior Director, Community Preparedness Programs

Mike Higgins

Center for Public Safety Excellence
Mike Higgins
CPC Program Manager

Congressional Fire Service Institute
William Webb
Executive Director

Institute of Fire Engineers – US Branch
John Rukavina

Insurance Service Office
Kevin Kuntz
Vice President, Chief Engineer

International Association of Black Professional Fire Fighters
Carrie Edwards-Clemons

International Association of Fire Chiefs
Elizabeth Bednarcik

International Association of Fire Fighters
Thomas Breyer
Assistant to the General President

International Association of Wildland Fire
Kathy Clay

Women in Fire
Laura Baker
Past President

International Code Council
Karl Fippinger
Vice President, Fire and Disaster Mitigation

International Fire Marshals Association
Kevin Sehlmeyer
State of Michigan Fire Marshal

International Fire Service Training Association (IFSTA)
Dan Ripley
Executive Board

International Public Safety Data Institute
John Oates
President and CEO

Elise Omaki

Johns Hopkins Center for Injury Research and Policy
Elise Omaki
Senior Research Associate

National Association of Hispanic Firefighters
Manuel Fonesca

National Association of Mobile Integrated Healthcare Providers
Victoria Reinhartz, PharmD, CPh
Chief Executive Officer

National Association of State Fire Marshals
Gary Farley

National Fallen Firefighters Foundation
Keith Brower

National Fire Protection Association
Lorraine Carli
Vice President, Outreach and Advocacy

National Institute of Standards and Technology
Anthony Hamins




National Volunteer Fire Council
Sarah Lee
Deputy Chief Executive

Society of Fire Protection Engineers
Leslie Marshall
Foundation Manager
SFPE Foundation

Underwriters Laboratories
Bruce Johnson
Regulatory Services Regional Manager



Azarang (Ozzie) Mirkhah
Fire Protection Engineer
Altria Client Services

Steven Sawyer

Technical Advisors

Monica Colby

Pat Mieszala