Skip to Content

V2020 Guidance

Steering Committee | Executive Committee

Steering Committee

The Vision 20/20 Steering Committee provides guidance to the operations of the project through a diversity of backgrounds, interests and views. The daily operations of Vision 20/20 are guided by members of the Executive Committee, and you can learn more about them by clicking here.


American Red Cross
Kevin Kelley
Senior Director, Community Preparedness Programs
Center for Public Safety Excellence
Karl Ristow
CFAI Program Director
Congressional Fire Service Institute
William Webb
Executive Director
Institute of Fire Engineers – US Branch
John Rukavina
Insurance Service Office
Thomas Weber
National Director
International Association of Black Professional Fire Fighters
Addington Stewart
International Association of Fire Chiefs
Stephen Hrustich
International Association of Fire Fighters
Jim Brinkley
Assistant to the General President
International Association of Wildland Fire
Kathy Clay
International Association of Women in Fire and Emergency Services
Laura Baker
Past President
International Code Council
Karl Fippinger
Vice President, Fire and Disaster Mitigation
International Fire Marshals Association
Steven Sawyer
Executive Secretary
International Fire Service Training Association (IFSTA)
Nancy Trench
Assistant Director
International Public Safety Data Institute
Lori Moore-Merrell
President and CEO
Johns Hopkins Center for Injury Research and Policy
Andrea Gielen
National Association of Hispanic Firefighters
Paul Maldonado
National Association of State Fire Marshals
Gary West
National Fallen Firefighters Foundation
Keith Brower
National Fire Protection Association
Lorraine Carli
Vice President, Outreach and Advocacy
National Fire Protection Association, Education Section
Cindy Giedraitis
National Institute of Standards and Technology
Anthony Hamins
National Volunteer Fire Council
Sarah Lee
Deputy Chief Executive
Society of Fire Protection Engineers
Victoria Valentine
Director of Professional Qualifications and Industry Alliances
Underwriters Laboratories
Bruce Johnson
Regulatory Services Regional Manager


Azarang (Ozzie) Mirkhah
Fire Protection Engineer
Altria Client Services
Wayne Powell
Executive Director
National Fire Heritage Center
Phil Schaenman
Tri-Data Division

Technical Advisors

Kathleen Almand
NFPA Research Foundation
Vice President, Research
Johnny Brewington
International Association of Black Professional Firefighters
Peg Carson
Carson Associates
Monica Colby
Bill Kehoe
Institution of Fire Engineers USA Branch
Pat Mieszala
National Consultant & Educational Services
Don Porth
PreventThink Life Safety Education and Consulting

Executive Committee

The daily operations of the Vision 20/20 project under the Institution of Fire Engineers, is overseen by the members of the Executive Committee, below. We are guided by a Steering Committee made of representatives from national organizations dedicated to fire safety, and you can learn more about them by clicking here.

Jim Crawford
Project Manager
Jim Broman
IFE Liaison
Ed Comeau
Communications and Digital Media Manager
Sandy Facinoli
USFA Liaison
Meri-K Appy
Strategic Partnership Manager

Feel free to reach any of us through the Contact Us page.